Cedar Mill
Community Website

Search the Cedar Mill News:

About The
Cedar Mill News

Volume 15, Issue 4
April 2017


May 16 election candidate forums

BSD Zone 7 candidates

BSD Zone 7 candidates


CPO 1&7 to hear from school and park district candidates

Tues., April 11, 7 pm, Leedy Grange Hall, 835 NW Saltzman

Have concerns about our school or park districts? Come meet the candidates for board positions!

Board candidates for Beaverton School District & Tualatin Hills Park & Recreation District will attend to introduce themselves and answer our questions. Note: Although candidates run for specific seats in both the THPRD and the BSD races, in-district voters may cast ballots for all seats in the May 16, 2017 election.

Each candidate will have two minutes to introduce themselves. They will respond to a few questions prepared by the CPOs. The Meet & Greet sessions before and after the forum will give audience members a chance to ask their own questions. Jeff Petrillo, CPO 7 leader and member of the Washington County Planning Commission, will moderate.

6:30-7 pm Meet & Greet for THPRD, BSD, and PCC Board candidates.

7:05 pm Tualatin Hills Park & Rec. District Board Candidates

7:45 pm Beaverton School Board Candidates

8:30 Meeting adjourned, Meet & Greet continues


Public forum for THPRD board candidates

Saturday, April 29, 1-3 pm, Manzanita Room, Elsie Stuhr Center, 5550 SW Hall Blvd, Beaverton

The public is invited to a forum featuring all candidates for open positions on the Tualatin Hills Park & Recreation District Board of Directors. Each candidate in attendance will give a brief presentation and take questions from the audience. The candidates will also remain after the Q&A period to talk with anyone interested. 

Three of the five positions on the THPRD Board are open this election season and will be decided on May 16:

            Position 1: Larry Pelatt (incumbent) v. Felicita Monteblanco.

            Position 2: Jerry Jones (incumbent) v. Stephanie Thompson.

            Position 3: Holly Thompson v. Lori Waldo v. Nathan Dahlin (all running for the seat occupied by Bob Scott, who chose not to run for reelection).

Winners will begin their term on July 1. Their four-year term will expire with the conclusion of THPRD’s fiscal year on June 30, 2021. The forum is presented by the Friends of the Elsie Stuhr Center. Refreshments will be provided. For more information, including directions to the Stuhr Center, call the center at 503-629-6342.


Beaverton School District Board candidate forum

Wednesday, Apr. 12, 6:30-8:30 p.m., Beaverton High School, 13000 W 2nd St., in the cafeteria

Candidates for five seats on the Beaverton School District board will present their positions. Seats on the ballot are for Zone 1, currently held by Susan Greenberg; Zone 2, held by Anne Bryan; Zone 4, held by Donna Tyner; Zone 5, held by LeeAnn Larsen; and Zone 7, which was held until recently by Board Vice-Chair Linda Degman.

Candidates will have an opportunity to give an opening statement, respond to audience questions, and give a closing statement Though candidates are nominated from the board zone they live in, voters in the district elect them at-large. Please visit the Beaverton School District School Board web page for more information and to view zone maps.

Previous article


Next article

Sign Up Now to receive
The Cedar Mill News by email each month

fb like
Like us on Facebook for timely updates

Cedar Mill News
Past Issues

Published monthly by Pioneer Marketing & Design
Publisher/Editor:Virginia Bruce
PO Box 91061
Portland, Oregon 97291
© 2017